BLOG OF DREW

I found job direction through calling friends

A while ago I quit and job and went travelling. Before I knew it, I was back home, living with my parents and keen to get into the workforce once more. The only problem was that I’m wasn't sure on what kind of work I want to do.

To help me discern what work could be a good fit, I did the following:

  1. Hopped on LinkedIn.

  2. Scrolled through all my connections. If any connections had jobs that looked interesting that I could pivot into, I opened their profile in a new tab.

  3. From all of the new tabs I opened, I looked through the profiles more closely and a few people that I knew well that I wanted to reach out to.

  4. I sent messages on LinkedIn (or Facebook if possible) asking for a quick 30 minute call to hear their perspective on their work.

That’s it. I had 6 calls in total and it was s honestly so helpful. Each call revealed something a little different and I noticed that some people are definitely more intelligent and insightful than others so it’s worth persisting to have those conversations.

I found it psychologically difficult to initiate these chats because part of me felt like I was showing weakness in saying that I’m not sure about my career direction and I would like help. But I’m so glad I faced that fear and reached out anyway. People are nicer than I thought and I've ended up in a new job in a new area that's just right for me.

#vocation